011. ONE GAME A MONTH (DEV LOG #7)

I had a semi-day off today. My friend invited me to a hiking trip, and I hesitantly said yes; but I’m glad I did though as the whole trip was quite relaxing. I hiked up Breakneck Ridge in New York and walked to Cold Spring, a quaint village with a couple of tiny antique stores and not much else (sorry if I offended anyone). I also caught up with old buds and met new folks.

Once I got back home, I programmed a functioning menu, that works with Keyboard inputs, Mouse clicks, and gamepad control. I put in “working code” to get everything working and bug free. That got me thinking if I should look back through my code and rewrite things more elegantly. Were there variable names that could’ve been more expressive? Are there optimizations in the code that I missed? I always wanted to be the type of programmer that wrote elegant code. But now that I’m facing a deadline, and writing code that I most likely will never look at again, I decided that reviewing my code after testing and debugging it made no sense. Sometimes, you just gotta be a programmer that gets shit done, programs, tests, comment the hell out of it, and pray you don’t have to look at it again. And hopefully as I learn more and more, all of my “get shit done” code improves and uses elegant solutions to new problems.

Leave a comment